EastEnders Leads the Way in British Soap Award Nominees

It's one of the biggest award ceremonies of the year for British soaps where they finally get acknowledgement for every fire, murder, slap and trifle throwing that happened throughout the year.

The 2015 shortlist has been revealed with Eastenders coming out top with 14 nominations, while Corrie follows on behind with 13. Emmerdale then received 12 nominations, Hollyoaks 11 and Doctors 10.

EastEnders has the never-ending 'Who Killed Lucy Beale?' up for Best Storyline, while their live show is also up for Best Episode - two awards you'd imagine they'd have in the bag.

We reckon actor Sean Ward, who plays Callum on Corrie is a dead cert in the Best Newcomer category while we really hope Sally and Tim nab Best On-Screen Partnership.

The late Anne Kirkbride is also up for a posthumous award for her famous trifle throwing in Corrie for Scene of the Year, along with Strictly dancing (Doctors), Kathy comes home (EastEnders), Donna's goodbye (Emmerdale) and The train crash (Hollyoaks).

Check out the full list of nominees below;

(The winners will be announced on May 16.)

Best British Soap

Coronation Street

Best Actor

Simon Gregson (Steve McDonald, Coronation Street)
David Neilson (Roy Cropper, Coronation Street)
Danny Dyer (Mick Carter, EastEnders)
Adam Woodyatt (Ian Beale, EastEnders)
Michael Parr (Ross Barton, Emmerdale)

Best Actress

Alison King (Carla Connor, Coronation Street)
Kellie Bright (Linda Carter, EastEnders)
Laurie Brett (Jane Beale, EastEnders)
Natalie Anderson (Alicia Metcalfe, Emmerdale)
Nikki Sanderson (Maxine Minniver, Hollyoaks)

Villain of the Year

Sean Ward (Callum Logan, Coronation Street)
Daniel Schutzmann (Franc Christophe, Doctors)
John Altman (Nick Cotton, EastEnders)
Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden, Emmerdale)
Jeremy Sheffield (Patrick Blake, Hollyoaks)

Best Comedy Performance


Sally Dynevor (Sally Webster, Coronation Street)
Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman, Doctors)
Tameka Empson (Kim Fox-Hubbard, EastEnders)
Laura Norton (Kerry Wyatt, Emmerdale)
Fabrizio Santino (David 'Ziggy' Roscoe, Hollyoaks)

Best Newcomer

Sean Ward (Callum Logan, Coronation Street)
Jessica Regan (Niamh Donoghue, Doctors)
Davood Ghadami (Kush Kazemi, EastEnders)
Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden, Emmerdale)
Twinnie-Lee Moore (Porsche McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Best Storyline

Steve and Michelle - Hearts and Minds (Coronation Street)
Kevin and Poppy - Underage Girlfriend (Doctors)
Who Killed Lucy? (EastEnders)
Donna's Demise (Emmerdale)
John Paul's Rape Ordeal (Hollyoaks)

Best Single Episode

Rob's confession (Coronation Street)
Unfinished Business (Doctors)
Episode 5020 - Live Episode (EastEnders)
Andy goes to the brink (Emmerdale)
Ste's HIV diagnosis (Hollyoaks)

Best Dramatic Performance

Simon Gregson (Steve McDonald, Coronation Street)
Lorna Laidlaw (Mrs Tembe, Doctors)
Kellie Bright (Linda Carter, EastEnders)
Natalie Anderson (Alicia Metcalfe, Emmerdale)
Keith Rice (Finn O'Connor, Hollyoaks)

Best On-Screen Partnership

Sally Dynevor and Joe Duttine (Sally Webster and Tim Metcalfe, Coronation Street)
Ian Midlane and Jessica Regan (Al Haskey and Niamh Donoghue, Doctors)
Laurie Brett and Adam Woodyatt (Jane and Ian Beale, EastEnders)
Verity Rushworth and Michael Parr (Donna Windsor and Ross Barton, Emmerdale)
Ellis Hollins and Ruby O'Donnell (Tom Cunningham and Peri Lomax, Hollyoaks)

Best Young Performance

Ellie Leach (Faye Windass, Coronation Street)
Jack Carroll (Peter Harker, Doctors)
Eliot Carrington (Bobby Beale, EastEnders)
Amelia Flanagan (April Windsor, Emmerdale)
Ruby O'Donnell (Peri Lomax, Hollyoaks)

Scene of the Year

Deirdre throws the trifle (Coronation Street)
Strictly dancing (Doctors)
Kathy comes home (EastEnders)
Donna's goodbye (Emmerdale)
The train crash (Hollyoaks)



Who would you like to see go home with an award this year? Or do you despite all soaps with the heat of a thousand suns?

Related Articles

More from Life